The Feast of the Ascension at Westminster Abbey CD

No reviews yet

In stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    The Westminster Abbey Choir continues their exploration of the rich repertoire of the liturgy in its historical context in the Abbey with music for the Feast of the Ascension. Ascension Day is a particular moment of celebration within the annual round of Easter praise and is celebrated in glorious and triumphal language.
    The works recorded here represent a wide range of the best of liturgical music, starting from the intricate and joyful writing of the sixteenth-century composer Peter Philips and ending with fascinating and appealing pieces by living composers.
    Along the way are works from the great flowering of English cathedral music in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
    Track list:
    1 Caelos ascendit hodie – Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    2 The Preces – Bernard Rose
    3 Psalm 24 – Sir Joseph Barnby
    4 Festival Te Deum in E – Benjamin Britten
    5 Der 100. Psalm – Heinrich Schutz
    6 The Responses – Bernard Rose
    7 O clap your hands – Ralph Vaughan Williams
    8 Missabrevis – Sir William Walton
    9 God is gone up – Gerald Finzi
    10 Ascendit Deus – Peter Philips
    11 Psalm 93 – Sir George Macfarren
    12 Magniciant and Nunc dimittis ‘Chichester Service’ – Sir William Walton
    13 Viri Galilaei – Patrick Gowers
    14 The Dismissal – Bernard Rose
    15 Toccata – Francis Pott

  • Product details

    • Running time approximately 68 minutes
    • Organ by Robert Quinney
    • SKU: 20052782
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95.

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95.

    Rest of the World: from £14.95.

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Recordings & Hymns
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account