Parry: Songs of Farewell & works by Stanford, Gray & Wood CD

In stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    Stanford’s eight-part Latin Magnificat was posthumously dedicated to Parry, whose own Songs of farewell are unmistakably valedictory in mood. Personal as well as musical associations run deep in this poignantly expressive programme, recorded in June 2019 at All Hallows’ Church, Gospel Oak.

    Read more about the recording on the Abbey website

    Sung by the Choir of Westminster Abbey

    James O’Donnell conductor

    Listen to extracts: https://www.hyperion-records.co.uk/dc.asp?dc=D_CDA68301

    STANFORD                 Three Motets Op 38

    GRAY                           Evening Service in F minor

    STANFORD                 Magnificat for eight-part chorus in B flat Op 

    WOOD                         Nunc dimittis in B flat

    PARRY                        Songs of Farewell

    Track listing:

    1. Justorum animae - Sir Charles Villiers Stanford

    2. Caelos ascendit hodie - Sir Charles Villiers Stanford

    3. Beati quorum via - Sir Charles Villiers Stanford

    4. Magnificat  My soul doth magnify the Lord - Alan Gray

    5. Nunc dimittis  Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peaceAlan Gray

    6. Magnificat for eight-part chorus in B flat Op 164Sir Charles Villiers Stanford

    7. Nunc dimittis in B flat - Charles Wood

    8. My soul, there is a country - Sir Hubert Parry

    9. I know my soul hath power to know all things - Sir Hubert Parry

    10. Never weather-beaten sail - Sir Hubert Parry

    11. There is an old belief - Sir Hubert Parry

    12. At the round earth's imagined corners - Sir Hubert Parry

    13. Lord, let me know mine end - Sir Hubert Parry

  • Product details

    • Running time: 64 mins 41 secs
    • Released June 2020
    • Measures 14 x 12.5cm
    • SKU: 20058730
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Rest of the World: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Books & Music