In Stock

Dove, Weir & Martin: Choral Works CD

Current Stock:

Every purchase helps support the ministry and fabric of the Abbey



Westminster Abbey Choir, James O'Donnell (conductor), Peter Holder (organ)

Throughout its history the Church of England has performed the conspicuous role of musical patron, and while this role may have changed in emphasis across the generations, it has nevertheless provided a platform for choral music, both a cappella and with organ, in which the shifting aesthetics of each age are embodied. Styles may change, yet the exigencies of the Anglican liturgy have all the same remained a powerful influence on the shape, nature and dimension of its genres, above all its service music and the anthem. This recording provides a vivid and powerful contemporary illustration of such music by three living British composers: Jonathan Dove, Judith Weir and Matthew Martin, all of whom exhibit a special affinity for choral music. Written and published between 2002 and 2019, many of the works presented here were specially written for The Choir of Westminster Abbey (or other comparable institutions) which, over the years, has commissioned various new pieces for the liturgy or for special services with a national or international emphasis as befits the Abbey’s unique role as a venue for public celebration and commemoration.

Jonathan Dove

1. Vast ocean of light [5'15]

Missa brevis [13'08]
2. Kyrie [3'22]
3. Gloria [3'30]
4. Sanctus and Benedictus [2'43]
5. Agnus Dei [3'33]
6. They will rise But those who hope in the Lord [5'04]

Judith Weir

7. The true light [6'30]
8. His mercy endureth for ever O give thanks unto the Lord [3'56] 
9. Truly I tell you When I consider your heavens [6'06]

Matthew Martin

10. In the midst of thy temple Angularis fundamentum [7'08]

The Westminster Service [8'07]
11. Magnificat My soul doth magnify the Lord [4'35]
12. Nunc dimittis Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart i

13. Sitivit anima mea [4'40]
14. O Oriens O come, thou dayspring, come and cheer [6'03]
15. Behold now, praise the Lord [4'12]

  • Label: Hyperion

  • Recording details: Various dates

  • Westminster Abbey, London, United Kingdom

  • Produced by Adrian Peacock

  • Engineered by David Hinitt

  • Release date: 4 February 2022

  • Total duration: 70 minutes 9 seconds

  • Cover artwork: Virgin and Child (1970/1) by Sister Concordia Scott (1924-2014) Chapel of Our Lady of Pew, Westminster Abbey / Copyright © Dean and Chapter of Westminster

  • Delivery & Returns

    Standard delivery:

    UK: £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe: from €9.95 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)

    USA/Canada: from $10.00 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)

    Rest of the World: from £14.95 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)



    We would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

    Sign up to our newsletter for a 10% first order discount code