The Feast of St. Michael and All Angels at Wesminster Abbey CD

In stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    The Westminster Abbey Choir continues their exploration of the rich repertoire of the liturgy in its historical context in the Abbey with music for the Feast of St Michael and All Angels, 29 September.
    The texts for Michaelmas are uniquely dramatic and visionary, describing the angelic host and the war in heaven, and have inspired composers throughout the centuries to create settings of thrilling immediacy.
    Included is most of the liturgical output of Sir Michael Tippett, whose joyful, extroverted compositional style and powerful sense of drama is perfect for the atmosphere of this festival. Langlais’ tremendous Messe solennelle is unquestionably his finest piece of church music; radiant and impassioned, using the organ particularly brilliantly to create colour and emotional depth.
    Herbert Howells’s A Sequence for St Michael is an excellent example of the mature style of the composer, an extended and substantial setting in which the Archangel’s intercession is movingly invoked. These and more established favourites and rarities of the repertoire are performed here with characteristic verve and impeccable musicality in the luminous acoustic of the Abbey.
    Track list:
    1 Factum est silentium- Richard Dering
    2 The Preces – Kenneth Leighton
    3 Psalm 148 – Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    4 Te Deum in G - Ralph Williams
    5 Jubilate in C – Benjamin Britten
    6 The Responses - Kenneth Leighton
    7 Messe solennelle – Jean Langlais
    8 Plebs angelica – Sir Michael Tippett
    9 Psalm 91 – Sir Walter Galpin Alcock
    10 Magnificant and Nunc dimittis ‘Collegium Sancti Johannis Cantabrigiense’ – Sir Michael Tippett
    11 A Sequence for St Michael – Herbert Howells
    12 Laus Deo – Jonathan Harvey

  • Product details

    • Conducted by James O'Donnell
    • Sung by The Choir of Westminster Abbey
    • SKU: 20052474
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Rest of the World: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Recordings & Hymns