In Stock

Splendour and Tranquillity CD

Current Stock:

Every purchase helps support the ministry and fabric of the Abbey


Gentle prayers and quiet motets are beautifully balanced with great choral anthems and jubilant ceremonial music in this collection which celebrates the work of many of the British composers commemorated in Musicians' Aisle in Westminster Abbey.
Featuring fine performances by Westminster Abbey Choir, the King’s Consort, Christ Church Cathedral Choir, the English String Orchestra and many more.

Track List:

  1. Messiah – And the glory, the glory of the Lord – Handel

  2. Thou knowest, Lord, the secrets of our hearts – Purcell

  3. Set me as a seal upon thine heart – Walton

  4. Behold, O God our defender – Howells

  5. O hearken Thou – Elgar

  6. O Taste and See – Vaughan Williams

  7. Nimrod – Elgar

  8. Mass in G Minor – Sanctus - Vaughan Williams

  9. Three Latin Motets – Beati quorum – Stanford

  10. Rejoice in the Lord, O ye Righteous – Chorus – Croft

  11. I was glad – Purcell

  12. Jubilate Deo – Britten

  13. Zadok the Priest – Handel

  14. God is our hope and strength – Blow

  15. Almighty and Everlasting God – Gibbons

  16. Jubilate in D – Chorus – Croft

  17. All people that on Earth do dwell - Vaughan Williams

  18. Crown Imperial - Walton

  • Exclusively produced for Westminster Abbey

Delivery & Returns

Standard delivery:

UK: £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

Europe: from €9.95 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)

USA/Canada: from $10.00 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)

Rest of the World: from £14.95 (calculated at checkout based on product weight)



We would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

We offer FREE UK returns

Sign up to our newsletter and enter code at basket stage for 10% off your first purchase