Tye Missa Euge Bone CD

No reviews yet

Out of stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    Christopher Tye flourished as a church musician in England during the mid-sixteenth century. A direct contemporary of Thomas Tallis, he held the prestigious post of Master of Choristers at Ely cathedral and successfully managed to compose music for both Protestant and Catholic services during a politically unstable time.
    The composer was described as ‘peevish and humoursome’, and these qualities are reflected in his remarkably individual music, characterized by unpredictable cadences and phrases of often unexpectedly startling beauty.
    The two major works on this recording are his masterful Missa Euge bone for six voices, and his Western Wynde Mass, probably an early work, and likely written as a complement to John Taverner’s own Mass based on this secular English song.
    Track list:
    1 Quaesumus omnipotens et misericors Deus
    2 Missa Euge Bone, Gloria
    3 Missa Euge Bone, Credo
    4 Missa Euge Bone, Sanctus
    5 Missa Euge Bone, Benedictus
    6 Missa Euge Bone, Agnus Dei Iv
    7 Missa Euge Bone, Agnus Dei II
    8 Missa Euge Bone, Agnus Dei III
    9 Missa Euge Bone, Agnus Dei IV
    10 Give almes of thy goods
    11 Christ rising
    12 Peccavimus cum patribus nostris
    13 Western Wynde Mass, Gloria
    14 Western Wynde Mass, Credo
    15 Western Wynde Mass, Sanctus
    16 Western Wynde Mass, Benedictus
    17 Western Wynde Mass, Agnus Dei I
    18 Western Wynde Mass, Agnus Dei II
    19 Western Wynde Mass, Agnus Dei III

  • Product details

    • Conducted by James O'Donnell
    • Organ by Robert Quinney
    • Sung by The Choir of Westminster Abbey
    • SKU: 20054874
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95.

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95.

    Rest of the World: from £14.95.

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Recordings & Hymns
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account