The Feast of Saint Peter the Apostle CD

No reviews yet

In stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    This CD contains music one might hear if visiting the Abbey on its patronal feast, that of St Peter the Apostle, which falls on 29 June.
    The programme broadly follows the structure of the three major choral services of the Anglican tradition, all of which can in turn be traced back to the worship familiar in the pre-Reformation period when the Abbey was a Benedictine monastery: Matins (or Morning Prayer); Eucharist (Mass); and Evensong (Evening Prayer).
    The two principal musical elements are William Byrd’s Mass for five voices, and, linking the morning and evening Offices, four movements from Charles Villiers Stanford’s Service in B flat. Also featured is Walton’s choral masterpiece The Twelve.
    Track list:
    1 Tue s Petrus op 1 No 3 - Maurice Durufle
    2 The Preses – Philip Radcliffe
    3 Psalm 138 – Henry George Ley
    4 Service in B flat, Op 10, Te Deum- Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    5 Service in B flat, Op 10, Jubilate- Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    6 The Responses – Philip Radcliffe
    7 Mass for five voices, Kyrie – William Byrd
    8 Mass for five voices, Gloria – William Byrd
    9 Mass for five voices, Credo – William Byrd
    10 Mass for five voices, Sanctus – William Byrd
    11 Mass for five voices, Benedictus – William Byrd
    12 Mass for five voices, Agnus Dei – William Byrd
    13 Tue s Petrus a 6 – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
    14 Psalm 124 – William Crotch
    15 Service in B flat,Op 10, Magnificant- Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    16 Service in B flat,Op 10, Nunc dimittis- Sir Charles Villiers Stanford
    17 The Twelve- Sir William Walton
    18 Sinfonia from Cantata 29 – J S Bach transcribed by Marcel Dupre

  • Product details

    • Conducted by James O'Donnell
    • Sung by The Choir of Westminster Abbey
    • Running time approximately 62 minutes
    • SKU: 20053830
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95.

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95.

    Rest of the World: from £14.95.

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Recordings & Hymns
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account