This website uses cookies to help us improve your user experience and to study how our website is being used. By using this website you consent to cookies being used in accordance with our privacy policy. Click here for more information.


Music from the Reign of King James I CD

Music from the Reign of King James I CD
Product Description:
Westminster Abbey has been the focus of British royal occasions for centuries, and the early seventeenth century saw the most dazzling musicians of the age writing music for the Court in all its various incarnations.
This fascinating disc presents a selection of works from the reign of King James I.The most eloquent and emotionally intense music recorded here was most likely never intended for performance in the Abbey, but has a particularly Royal relevance. The laments of King David were set by many composers of this period. These moving texts have no place in the liturgy, being neither part of the Ordinary of Psalms and canticles, nor able to furnish a seasonally appropriate or devotional anthem.
Their composition seems therefore to have been a response to the death in November 1612 of the Prince of Wales, Prince Henry.
Track List:
1 Be strong and of good courage - Tomkins
2 Great king of gods – Gibbons
3 O all true faithful hearts – Gibbons
4 Fancy in C fa ut – Gibbons
5 Great Service – Hooper
6 Maginicant – Hooper
7 Nunc dimittis – Hooper
8 O sing unto the Lord a new song – Tomkins
9 Fancy in Gamutt flatt – Gibbons
10 When David heard – Tomkins
11 Then David mourned – Tomkins
12 How are the mighty fallen – Ramsey
13 See, see, the Word is incarnate – Gibbons
14 Fantazia of foure parts – Gibbons
15 Hosanna to the son David – Gibbons
16 O Lord, in thy wrath rebuke me not – Gibbons
17 Almighty and everlasting God – Gibbons
18 Preludium – Gibbons
19 O clap your hands – Gibbons
Product Details
  • Conducted by James O'Donnell
  • Sung by Choir of Westminster Abbey
  • Running time approximately 78 minutes

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register