'O Praise the Lord' CD

In stock
  • Hyperion CD offer: buy 3 Hyperion CDs for £30.

    The triumphant mood of the Restoration required much glorious liturgical music, and the Abbey was home to some of the greatest composers and performers of the age.
    This recording presents music likely to have been sung by - and in some cases, almost certain to have been written for - the Choir of Westminster Abbey during the late 1670's and early 1680's.
    They sing four canticles from the compendious Service in B flat by Henry Purcell, together with psalmody in reconstructed contemporary style, and anthems and motets by Purcell and his contemporary John Blow, who famously both preceded and succeeded Purcell as Organist of the Abbey.
    Track list:
    1 O Praise the Lord – Child
    2 Voluntary in A– Blow
    3 God is our hope and strength – Blow
    4 Venite – Blow
    5 Psalm 113– Turner
    6 Voluntary in D minor – Blow
    7 Benedicite – Purcell
    8 Benedictus – Purcell
    9 O Lord God of hosts – Purcell
    10 Voluntary in D minor – Blow
    11 Salvator mundi, salva nos – Blow
    12 Jehova, quam multi sunt hostes mei – Purcell
    13 Voluntary in D minor – Purcell
    14 Hear my prayer, O Lord – Purcell
    15 Psalm 54 – Turner
    16 Voluntary in C minor – Purcell
    17 Magnificat – Purcell
    18 Nunc dimittis – Purcell
    19 Lord, how long wilt thou be angry – Purcell
    20 Voluntary in G major – Purcell

  • Product details

    • Conducted by James O'Donnell
    • Sung by The Choir of Westminster Abbey
    • Running time approximately 70 minutes
    • SKU: 20053731
  • Standard delivery:

    UK: a flat rate of £4.95. FREE for orders over £50.

    Europe (excluding EU): from £9.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Please see here for further information on our 'duty paid' shipping option to the EU

    USA/Canada: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    Rest of the World: from £14.95. FREE for orders over £100*

    *Offer excludes all products labelled as 'online exclusive' as these products are sent directly from our supplier.

    We also offer a FREE next day ‘click and collect’ service.

    A faster, tracked delivery service is available, please see here for full delivery information including any delivery exclusions that apply.

    Returns: we would like you to be delighted with your purchase, and will refund any items returned within 28 days. Please see here for our full returns policy.

    We offer FREE UK returns

  • Description
  • Details
  • Delivery & returns
Back to Recordings & Hymns